The Best Thing About This Thursday

Posted: October 3, 2013 in Poems, The Best Thing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Now this might seem a bit strange, me putting this into ‘The Best Thing’, but this morning, I went to a funeral. It was for a lady who I met only 8 months ago when she started bringing her Granddaughter to a project I run at the weekend but she was such a lovely, fun, lady who I feel honoured to have met. And we then used to bump into each other nearly everyday either when I was doing the school run or if I was on the bus on my way home from work. She will be missed by not just myself, but everyone who attends the project.

This poem was at the back of the order of service. I think it is written by Ellen Brenneman. If I’m wrong please feel free to correct me in the comments.

Her Journey’s Just Begun

Don’t think of her as gone away
Her journey’s just begun,
Life holds so many facets
This earth is only one.

Just think of her as resting
From the sorrows and the tears
In a place of warmth and comfort
Where there are no days and years.

Think how she must be wishing
That we could know today
How nothing but our sadness
Can really pass away.

And think of her as living
In the hearts of those she touched…
For nothing loved is ever lost
And she was loved so much.

Leave a Reply

