I take working under pressure to the next level. Since 10am this morning I have been working on my accounts, that are actually due in tomorrow. Ahhhh help! But because the deadline letter said due before 7th November, I’m taking that date as my deadline. I’ve managed to do four months worth and still have another six to go.

I don’t know why I do this to myself? Luckily all the receipts had been filed in month order but I couldn’t remember the categories I was supposed to file each thing under. Of course, because I’ve left it so late, technology then decides it’s going to make life even more difficult. A few weeks ago my kids managed to lose every document on the laptop including the one that had all the budget categories, then a few days ago the laptop decided it was handing in its notice, and would no longer work for me under any circumstances. Why oh why?!?

Is this punishment for being the biggest procrastinator in London? Is is because I have already mentally shut down even though it’s not yet the end of the year?

So, I’ve just spent the past 7 hours on my iPad, ignoring my 3 year old apart from getting him the odd sandwich or drink. I don’t think it’s too much to ask Peppa Pig to look after him for a change! Anyone who has an iPad will know that they’re lovely to watch things on and do lots of swiping but to try and actually create and work from a spreadsheet is an infuriating task!

There was also a mountain of washing up from the night before to be done. My older kids then arrived home from school, dinner had not been prepared but they’re lucky they didn’t find me still in my pyjamas!

At 6pm I decided that I better think about feeding them, besides I had run out of coffee and fags and it looks like this is going to be an all-nighter. I managed to wash up whilst killing time between ordering and collecting a £6 15″ pizza. (Bargain!)

Everyone is now fed and back to watching Peppa Pig (nobody in their right mind will argue with a 3 year old!) and I’m about to have another coffee and get this show back on the road.

I can’t wait for tomorrow, where instead I will stress about the looming deadline for an exhibition and performance I’m organising. 8 days to go and not enough work to fill the walls nor any programme order!

Please excuse me while I find a brick wall to knock myself out!

NaBloPoMo November 2013

Leave a Reply

